Picture
I'm here to introduce to you the youngest RC drifter in our North East area. Gabriel Correa. 
Gabriel has been a weekly participant of Salvation slide - an indoor gymnasium turned into a drift track on Thursdays night. Time on the track and understanding more about what RC drifting is all about, Gabriel has improved substantially since the first time coming out with his father, who actually drives a 1:1 Toyota Trueno drift car. 

 I caught up with Gabriel on a Thursday evening at Salvation Slide and totally surprised him when I told him I was going to put him on my blog. He was totally stoked. I sat down and asked him a few questions and here's what he had to say.

Tell everyone out in Cyber-world what your name is? and how old you are??
(Chuckles) My name is Gabriel Carrea and i'm 8 years old.

What got you into RC drifting? 
GC: The first time I went to Formula D I saw it there and I begged my dad I wanted one. 

How long ago was that?
GC: Two years ago.

So you have been drifting for 2 years?
GC: NO, NO I told my dad I wanted it 2 years ago..... and I got the car for my birthday.

What chassis do you run?
GC: I run a HPI E-10.

Any upgrades?
GC: Yes, A LOT...
 HPI e10 rtr chassis with HPI aluminum shaft, front 1 way, rear spool, universal axles, front and rear adjustable control arms and firebolt 15t motor, yeah racing adjustable steering linkage and front knuckles/uprights, Raikou drift tires.

Do you have any favorite Formula One Drift drivers?
GC: I like Vaughn Gitten JR.

Was learning to drift hard?
GC: Not really..... well, getting the car to move right.
When I first saw it it looked real easy but when I tried it I couldn't get the car to drift right. 

What I found out was you cant just hold the gas(throttle) and turn the (remote)wheel hard. Throttle control is everything.

Gabriel entered his first comp at YankiDori Drift Comp. He did a great job. 
We hope to see him entering more events in the future. 

9/26/2012 07:56:43 am

Great job Gabe! Keep it up!

Reply
Luis Malave
9/26/2012 12:33:38 pm

Keep it up Gabe and ur r/c car is sick

Reply
9/27/2012 01:13:07 am

Good initiative to put some (young) drivers in the spotlights!

Reply
Robert Marshall
9/27/2012 07:58:28 am

It's awsome seeing you progress bud!! Also congrats on the good grades for the body :)

Reply
9/28/2012 01:23:35 am

it's great to young drifters enjoying the sports-hobby.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.